Our Governors

Our Local Governing Body consists of a group of enthusiastic and committed people who volunteer to work in partnership with the school staff to shape the future of the school, to decide the key issues that will help staff to raise standards and to determine how the school will best spend its money to achieve these aims.

We are particularly fortunate that we have a wide cross section of skills and experience among our governors with representation from parents, staff and members of the community.

Chair of Governors: Lucy Roberts

To contact the Chair of Governors, please send your correspondence addressed to the Chair of Governors, c/o Bere Regis Primary and Pre-School, Southbrook, Wareham, Dorset, BH20 7DB.

Bere Regis Primary and Pre-School is also part of the Thomas Hardye Multi-Academy Trust (THMAT). A Multi-Academy Trust is a single entity established to undertake a strategic collaboration to improve and maintain high educational standards across a number of schools. A group of schools form a single MAT which has overarching responsibility for their governance.

Further information about THMAT and its governance can be found on this page. To contact THMAT, please call 01305 266064 or write to the Chief Executive Officer, Mr Michael Foley c/o Thomas Hardye School, Queens Avenue, Dorchester, Dorset, DT4 9LE

Chair of Directors: Mr Garry Batt

Governors News



Lucy Roberts

Chair of Governors


Kerry Smith

Deputy Chair of Governors


Vicky Smyth

Clerk to the Governors

Mr Roberts - A Message from the Headteacher

Wayne Roberts



Laura Maunder


Jill Marsden

Mrs Rachael Brown

Rachael Brown


Jim Meaden


Mark Rainsley

More about Thomas Hardye Multi-Academy Trust Governance

THMAT has three layers of governance.  This is to ensure robust leadership, full accountability and to meet the requirements of the Memorandum, Articles of Association and Funding Agreements, which are statutory documents entered into with the Secretary of State for Education. The three layers are: Members, Trustees/Directors and Local Governors. The governance roles are all unpaid, voluntary roles.

Members: The Members are accountable to the Department for Education and have ultimate responsibility for the Trust achieving its charitable objectives.  They sign off the Articles of Association and have the power to appoint and/or remove Trustees.  There are four Members of the THMAT and they presently meet termly with the AGM taking place in January.

Trustees/Directors: The Directors set the strategic direction for the MAT and are accountable to the Secretary of State for the performance of schools within it.  As charity trustees, they must also ensure that they are complying with charity law requirements.  The Directors are appointed for their skills, knowledge or experience and fulfil the three core governance functions:

  • ensuring the clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • holding the Chief Executive Officer to account for the educational performance of the Trust schools and their pupils and the performance management of its staff
  • overseeing the financial performance for the schools and making sure its money is well spent

The Scheme of Delegation details the powers delegated to the different bodies involved in the governance of the MAT and sets out who is responsible for making which decisions within the Trust.   THMAT presently has 6 Directors that meet monthly during term time.

Local Governing Body: Each school has its own Local Governing Body (LGB) which is a committee of the Trust Board of Directors.  The LGB is made up of community representatives and elected parent and staff representatives, with the skills and experience that enable them to support the Directors and Headteachers by adding local context and challenge.  This is to ensure that each school offers the very best provision.  The LGB have governance functions delegated to them by the Trust Board of Directors for their particular school via the Scheme of Delegation and are accountable to the Trust Board of Directors.

Executive Leadership Team: The Executive Leadership Team are the operational management team of the MAT, employed to ensure excellent education and effective deployment of resources for all schools within the MAT.